When you eat food you want to know what is in it and where it comes from. This is especially true if you are a vegetarian as you need to avoid meat/animal products. Here are some foods that you need to watch out for if you are a vegetarian.
1. Refried beans: Yes, they are beans which are not an animal product, however refried beans are often cooked in animal lard or bacon grease. Make sure that you are getting canned refried beans that have a vegetarian label on them
2. Tropicana Heart Healthy orange juice: This juice is packed with Omega-3s but the Omega-3 variety that they use is actually made of sardines, tilapia, and anchovies. Stick with an alternative that is plant-based.
3. Parmigiano-Reggiano: During the process of making cheese animal rennet is often used. Rennet is the lining of an animal’s stomach. There are strict rules that make a cheese Parmesan, and using calf rennet is one of those. Look for a cheese that is made with vegetable rennet.
4. Marshmallows: These deliciously sweet treats contain gelatin which is a protein that comes from the bones and skin of a cow or pig. Gelatin is found in many different sweet treats so read the label carefully.
5. Chips: FritoLay explains on its website that animal enzymes are used to make the cheese flavor in some of their chips. Labels usually do not differentiate between plant and animal enzymes.
6. Worcestershire sauce: This sauce is often made with anchovies, so look for ones that are anchovy free.
7. Bagels: Some bagel makers use the enzyme L-cysteine which is an enzyme that comes from hair or poultry feathers.
8. Altoids: Gelatin is a main ingredient in Altoids, so try an alternative breath mint.
9. Guinness beer: During the brewing process, Guinness uses isinglass which is fish bladder, to strain out leftover particles. This is not listed as an ingredient in the beer but traces may be in the beer.